home contact us sitemap
The Zayed Future Energy Prize is linked to the vision of the late Ruler of Abu Dhabi and Founding Father of the United Arab Emirates, HH Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan.

In 2008 at the World Energy Summit, HH Sheikh Mohammad bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, and Deputy Commander of the Armed Forces of the UAE, announced The Zayed Future Energy Prize, to honour the legacy of environmental stewardship of HH Sheikh Zayed.

In establishing the Zayed Future Energy Prize, Abu Dhabi with its international partners aim to inspire the next generation of global energy innovators creating solutions we can barely imagine today.

The Prize will be awarded to individuals, companies, governments, organisations and NGOs that have made significant contributions in the global response to the future of energy, and climate change in areas such as:

On the evening of January 19th, 2009, the winner of the Prize will be awarded $1.5 million with up to two finalists receiving $350,000 each to take their ideas and ambitions to the next level.

Finalists will be nominated by experts across the globe. The winners will be chosen by a jury chaired by Dr. R.K. Pachauri, Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and winner of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize.

Zayed Future Energy Prize
On the evening of January 19th, 2009, the winner of the first annual Prize will be awarded.